Content Map Terms

School-Age Children Growth and Development

Between the ages of 6-10, children progress in four major areas of development – physical, intellectual, emotional and social. They begin to develop logical thought processes, learn crucial skills and experience growth spurts. Learn more about school-age child development: 

Development Milestones

Children progress through developmental milestones in a predictable sequence. But each child will grow and learn at his or her own pace. Learn more about the different milestones your child will reach:

Your child may have trouble listening, speaking, reading, writing, spelling, or doing math. Learning disabilities make it hard for children to learn in these areas. Speak with your child’s teacher if you have concerns.

School-Age Children and Play

Nurturing your child’s love of play and creativity can help strengthen your bond and encourage learning. Learn more about play here:

Last Updated: June 30, 2021